Founded in 730, the Monastery is historical evidence of the region.
Nestled among the enchanting hills of Siena, the oldest Monastery in Tuscany, founded in 730 e donated in 731 to the Benedettini Cassinesi by the longobard royal castellum Warnifredo, is a unique jewel with deep origins: in 1270, the troops of Carlo d’Angiò, king of Sicily, encamped in its environs during the sacking of Siena, while in 1553, marshal Pietro Strozzi, an Italian leader and marshal of France, erected fortifications there during the Sienese War. Home to Benedictine monks until 1786, it suffered the 1798 earthquake and was restored by the family of Count Griccioli, who became owners of the complex in 1812 during the Napoleonic suppression that dissolved all religious orders, and remained so until 1932.
The property, with a indoor area of 6,200 square meters and a outdoor spaces of nearly 10,000 square meters, is structured around two striking cloisters: the main one is enriched by a central garden and a well, with elegant Renaissance architecture featuring round arches with sandstone columns topped by fine capitals; the second one offers a different perspective, with hexagonal brick pillars. Inside there is a fascinating sacellum frescoed in the vault, decorated with medallions and grotesques, by a late 16th-century Sienese artist. Most of the interior spaces feature large frescoed vaults, which contribute to the charming and evocative atmosphere.
For the sale of a property of such caliber, listed in the catalog of architectural and landscape cultural heritage of the Soprintendenza Archeologia Belle Arti e Paesaggio for the provinces of Siena, Grosseto and Arezzo, the property entrusted to Lionard Luxury Real Estate S.p.A..